The best novel writing software in 2026
We make Feldar, one of the apps on this list. Here is how we judged fifteen writing apps and two chatbots, classic and AI, on the same things a novelist needs, and where other tools win. Every price and platform was checked on the company's own pages on November 6, 2026.
The short answer, by what you need
- A long manuscript, offline, paid once
- Scrivener.
- Free
- Google Docs to start. Reedsy Studio for a free app shaped like a book, with PDF and EPUB output.
- Outlining
- Plottr for timelines and plotlines. Dabble if you want a plot grid inside the manuscript app.
- Worldbuilding
- Campfire or World Anvil.
- AI drafting
- Sudowrite.
- Your own words, with AI help you approve
- Feldar. We would say that, so read its limits too. Novelcrafter if you want to bring your own AI models.
- Formatting and publishing
- Atticus, or Reedsy Studio for free.
- Working with an editor or co-author
- Dabble (track changes) or Reedsy Studio.
- Windows
- Scrivener, Plottr or LivingWriter as native apps. Atticus runs in the browser.
- Offline
- Scrivener. Dabble and Atticus also work offline and sync later.
How we judged
Most lists of writing software pick one camp. The classic lists cover Scrivener and Word and barely mention AI. The AI lists skip Scrivener and Atticus. A novelist choosing in 2026 is choosing across both, so we put every tool through the same questions:
- Long manuscripts. Can it hold 90,000 words as chapters and scenes you can move around?
- Planning. Outlines, scene cards, plotlines, and how close they sit to the draft.
- Story world. Somewhere for characters, places and rules, ideally beside the page.
- Revision. Version history, comments, track changes, editorial checks.
- AI. Whether there is any, how much it writes, whether you approve each change, and whether your writing is used for training.
- Getting the book out. Word files for agents and editors, and ebook and print files for self-publishing.
- Platforms and offline. Where it runs, and what happens on a train with no signal.
- Price over a year, with how the billing actually works.
The facts come from each company's own pricing, feature and help pages, checked on November 6, 2026, and are listed under Sources. Where a page did not show a price or a detail, we say so rather than guess. We did not give scores. The opinions are ours and marked as opinions. We left out tools we could not check properly.
At a glance
Prices in US dollars from each company's own pages, checked November 6, 2026. "Not stated" means the official pages we read did not say. The table scrolls sideways.
| Tool | Best for | Price and billing | Free option | Runs on | Offline | AI | Export |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scrivener | Long manuscripts, compiling | $59.99 once (macOS), $23.99 (iOS), Windows sold separately | 30-day trial (Mac, Windows) | macOS, Windows, iOS | Yes | None | Word, PDF, ePub, Kindle, Final Draft and more |
| Microsoft Word | Manuscripts for agents and editors | Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year | 1-month trial | Windows, macOS, phones, tablets | Yes (desktop app) | Copilot included | .docx, PDF |
| Google Docs | Free drafting and sharing | Free with a Google account | Free | Web, phone apps | In Chrome or Edge, once turned on | Not checked | .docx, PDF and others |
| Plottr | Visual outlining, series bibles | $60 a year or $150 once; Pro $9.99 a month or $99 a year | 30-day trial | Windows, macOS; web on Pro | Yes (desktop) | None | Outline to Word and Scrivener |
| Dabble | Plot grid, editors, co-authors | From $15 a month billed yearly ($180); lifetime $699 | 14-day trial | Browser, phone | Yes | None | Word, text |
| LivingWriter | Boards, story elements, screenplays | Pro and Pro + AI plans; prices did not load when we checked | Free plan; 7-day trial | Web, Windows, Mac, iOS, Android | Not stated | Optional, on Pro + AI | Not confirmed |
| Campfire | Deep worldbuilding | $12 a month (sale); yearly and lifetime too | Free plan with limits | Browser, desktop, mobile | Not stated | None listed | PDF, EPUB |
| World Anvil | Worlds, maps, timelines | Paid tiers monthly, yearly or lifetime; prices did not load | Free tier | Web | Not stated | Not checked | Not checked |
| Reedsy Studio | Free writing and typesetting | Free; paid add-ons | Free | Browser on any device | No | None listed | Print PDF, EPUB |
| Atticus | Formatting ebooks and print | $147 once | No trial; 30-day money-back guarantee | Browser app: Windows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook | Yes | None | EPUB, PDF, DOCX |
| Sudowrite | AI drafting and brainstorming | $10, $22 or $44 a month billed yearly; $19, $29 or $59 monthly | Free trial, no card | Web, iOS, Android | Not stated | Built in, own fiction models | .docx |
| Novelcrafter | Story codex, your own AI keys | $4 to $20 a month; AI usage billed by your provider | 21-day trial | Web, mobile friendly | Not stated | Bring your own key or local model | .docx, Markdown |
| Feldar | Plan, write and revise in your words, AI help you approve | Free; Core $20 a month or $180 a year; Pro $40 or $400 | Free plan, 500 credits | Web, macOS | No | Built in, six models | .docx, PDF, Markdown, text |
| NovelAI | AI storytelling, private stories | $10, $15 or $25 a month | 50 free text generations | Web | Not stated | Built in | Story files |
| Squibler | Generating whole books | Plus $29.99 a month or $15.83 billed yearly; Pro $89.99 or $49.17 | Free, 500 AI credits a month | Web | Not stated | Built in | PDF, DOCX (paid) |
| ChatGPT and Claude | Brainstorming, research, questions | ChatGPT Plus $20 a month; Claude Pro $20 monthly or $17 billed yearly | Free plans | Web, desktop, iOS, Android | No | The product is the AI | Copy and paste |
Classic writing software
These are the tools without generative AI, or where AI is a side feature.
Scrivener
A desktop writing studio from Literature & Latte, built for long projects. The binder holds the book as sections of any size, the corkboard shows them as index cards, and research (PDFs, images, web pages) lives inside the project. Compile turns one project into a Word manuscript, a PDF, an ebook or a script.
- Who it's for
- Novelists who want deep control, local files and no subscription.
- Strengths
- One-time price. Fully offline. Scrivenings mode to edit many sections as one. Snapshots before a big rewrite. The most flexible output of anything here.
- Limits
- No AI. A separate licence for each platform. No Android or web app. Mobile sync goes through Dropbox. Compile is powerful, and it takes time to learn.
- Price
- $59.99 once on macOS, $23.99 on iOS, a separate Windows licence. Major upgrades are paid, at a discount. 30-day free trial on Mac and Windows.
Our full Feldar vs Scrivener comparison covers moving a project across.
Microsoft Word
The format agents and editors still ask for. Word is not built for novels, but headings and the navigation pane give a long manuscript enough structure, and track changes is the standard way editors and authors trade revisions.
- Who it's for
- Writers who already live in it, and anyone working closely with a traditional editor.
- Strengths
- Universal file format. Track changes and comments. Desktop apps that work offline. Copilot is included in the consumer Microsoft 365 plans.
- Limits
- No scene cards, story bible or plot view. In our view, one long file gets unwieldy as a novel grows.
- Price
- Microsoft 365 Personal is $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year, with a one-month free trial.
Google Docs
Free, in the browser, and in our view the easiest way to share a chapter with a writing group.
- Who it's for
- Writers starting out, and anyone who needs a free tool that just works.
- Strengths
- Free. Comments and suggestions for beta readers. Exports to Word and PDF.
- Limits
- No novel structure beyond headings. Offline editing needs Chrome or Edge, the Docs Offline extension and the setting turned on in advance.
- Price
- Free with a Google account.
Plottr
Visual outlining and series bible software. Scenes sit on a timeline in lanes, one lane per plotline, so you can see where a subplot goes quiet. It comes with 30+ plot templates and a series view, and it has no AI by design.
- Who it's for
- Plotters, especially with many points of view or a series.
- Strengths
- Timelines and plotlines. Scene attributes for POV, goals and conflicts. A story bible with custom attributes. "No AI" on every plan. A lifetime option.
- Limits
- It plans the book rather than holding the manuscript, so you write elsewhere. Cloud sync and collaboration need Pro.
- Price
- Desktop $60 a year or $150 once. Pro $9.99 a month, $99 a year or $599 once (sale prices). 30-day free trial.
See Feldar vs Plottr.
Dabble
A cloud novel-writing studio with a Plot Grid that sets scenes against plotlines, character profiles and a story notebook beside the manuscript. It has no generative AI, and says any future AI features will be strictly opt-in.
- Who it's for
- Novelists who want planning and drafting together, and who work with co-authors, beta readers or an editor.
- Strengths
- True offline writing that syncs later. Co-authoring. Versioning. Comments, track changes and beta reader support on the Author plan. A lifetime option. Manuscripts stay readable and exportable if you stop paying.
- Limits
- Export is Word and text only, so no ebook or print files. Grammar checks and track changes need the Author plan.
- Price
- Writer $15 a month billed yearly ($180), Author $23 ($276), Bestseller $39 ($468). Monthly billing is also offered. Lifetime Author $699. 14-day free trial, no card.
LivingWriter
A cloud writing app for books and screenplays, with planning boards, templates and Story Elements: character and place profiles connected to the manuscript. AI features are optional and come with the Pro + AI plan.
- Who it's for
- Writers who want apps on every device, and anyone who writes screenplays as well as novels.
- Strengths
- Web, Windows, Mac, iOS and Android apps that sync. Screenplay formatting. Story structure templates. A free plan. It says it does not use your manuscript to train its AI.
- Limits
- AI help is limited to the AI plan. We could not confirm export formats or offline use on its official pages.
- Price
- Free plan, then Pro and Pro + AI. The pricing page did not show prices when we checked, so we have left them out. 7-day free trial.
Campfire
A modular writing and worldbuilding app: manuscript, characters, timeline, maps, calendars, magic systems, languages, cultures and more, each a module.
- Who it's for
- Fantasy and science fiction writers whose world needs real depth.
- Strengths
- Worldbuilding modules nothing else here matches. Unlimited collaborators. PDF and EPUB export. Browser, desktop and mobile apps. A free plan.
- Limits
- The free plan is tight (25,000 manuscript words, 10 characters). No AI listed.
- Price
- Standard $12 a month (marked down from $19), plus yearly, lifetime and custom module plans. Monthly plans are not refundable; yearly and lifetime are, within 30 days.
World Anvil
A worldbuilding platform for writers and game masters: articles, interactive maps, timelines, family trees, and novel writing on paid tiers.
- Who it's for
- Worldbuilders first, novelists second, and writers who want to publish their world to readers.
- Strengths
- Depth of worldbuilding tools. Public publishing. A large community. A free tier.
- Limits
- A big tool to learn for one novel. Lifetime memberships are non-refundable.
- Price
- A free tier, then three paid tiers, monthly, yearly or lifetime. Prices did not load on the official page when we checked.
Reedsy Studio
A free browser writing app from Reedsy that organizes a book by section, chapter and scene, and typesets it to print-ready PDF and EPUB.
- Who it's for
- Self-publishers on a budget, and writers who want an editor to work inside the manuscript.
- Strengths
- Free, including typesetting. Real-time collaboration with comments and tracked changes. 30 days of version history free. Reedsy says your work will not be used to train AI.
- Limits
- Browser only and no offline use yet, by Reedsy's own FAQ. No AI listed on the Studio page.
- Price
- Free. Add-ons such as Craft (unlimited history, advanced stats, custom goals) are paid, with a 30-day trial.
Atticus
Book writing and formatting software sold once, positioned against Vellum. You can draft in it, but its strength is turning a manuscript into a good-looking ebook and print book.
- Who it's for
- Self-publishing authors.
- Strengths
- 17+ chapter themes and a custom theme builder. 1,500+ fonts. Previews on a range of reading devices. EPUB, PDF and DOCX export. Works online and offline on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook.
- Limits
- No story bible or outlining. No AI, and its help center says there are no plans to add it.
- Price
- $147 once for ebook and print, with future updates included and a 30-day money-back guarantee instead of a trial.
AI writing software
These tools put AI at the center. They differ most in how much of the writing the AI does, and in who stays in charge of the words.
Sudowrite
One of the best-known AI writing apps for fiction. Write, Rewrite, Describe, Expand and Brainstorm work on your draft, a Story Bible keeps characters and outline in view, and its own fiction models, Muse and Ballad, sit beside 30+ others.
- Who it's for
- Novelists who want the AI to draft with them, often at speed.
- Strengths
- Fiction-tuned models. Style matching and series continuity. Developmental edits, line edits and beta reads on Professional and Max. iOS and Android apps. A large community. It says it does not train on your writing.
- Limits
- Credits run down with heavy drafting. The pricing page opens on yearly billing, so read the monthly price before you pay. A project export does not include the Story Bible.
- Price
- Hobby & Student $10 a month billed yearly or $19 monthly. Professional $22 or $29. Max $44 or $59. Free trial, no card.
See Feldar vs Sudowrite.
Novelcrafter
A web writing workspace with a deep Codex (story bible), a planning grid and matrix, and AI you connect yourself: an OpenRouter key, another vendor, or a local model.
- Who it's for
- Planners and series writers who want control over models, prompts and costs.
- Strengths
- A very low entry price. Full model choice, including local models. Codex progressions and relations. Revision history. Series with a shared Codex. Collaboration on the top plan.
- Limits
- Setting up keys takes effort. The subscription includes no AI usage, so AI is a second bill from your provider.
- Price
- Scribe $4 a month (no AI), Hobbyist $8, Artisan $14, Specialist $20. Two months off on yearly billing. Prices are localized. 21-day free trial, no card.
Feldar (ours)
A writing app for novelists that keeps a scene plan on every chapter and a Canvas of characters, places and plot beats beside the manuscript. Its AI can draft a chapter from your scenes, continue a paragraph or rework a passage, and new text appears in blue or in a card. It stays only if you accept it.
- Who it's for
- Novelists who write their own sentences and want planning, a story bible, revision help and a first reader in the same place.
- Strengths
- An Outline of scenes on each chapter, with Generate scenes and Draft Page. The Canvas, whose cards feed the context Feldar writes from. Polish, Deepen, Enhance and Instruct on a selected passage, with every change marked. Checks for grammar, clarity, repetition, dialogue and point of view. Lens, six reader personas, and Reader reactions in the margin. Voice & Style, which learns from a sample of your prose. A choice of GPT-6 and Claude 5.5 models. A private Writing record of which words you typed and which came through Feldar's tools. Feldar does not train AI models on your writing.
- Limits
- No Windows or Linux desktop app yet (the web app runs in a modern browser). No offline writing. No mobile app. No ebook or print formatting. No sharing, co-writing or track changes. No version history. English only. AI features use credits, and the free plan's 500 credits go quickly if you draft with AI.
- Price
- Starter free with 500 credits, no card. Core $20 a month or $180 a year (20,000 credits a month). Pro $40 or $400 (45,000). Ultra $200 or $2,220 (250,000). Writing and organizing never use credits.
NovelAI
An AI storytelling and anime image service from Anlatan, with a Lorebook for world details. Story generation runs on GLM 4.6, and the top tier adds NovelAI's own models.
- Who it's for
- Hobby storytellers, interactive fiction and text adventure fans, more than manuscript-focused novelists.
- Strengths
- Stories are end-to-end encrypted, and NovelAI says it cannot read them and does not store your prompts. Unlimited text generation from $10. Image generation included.
- Limits
- No chapters, outlines or manuscript export pipeline. The largest context is on the top tier.
- Price
- Tablet $10, Scroll $15, Opus $25, renewing every 30 days. A free trial of 50 text generations.
Squibler
An AI book and screenplay generator with an editor. Its paid plans advertise generating a full-length manuscript.
- Who it's for
- People who want the most automation, rather than writers who want to write each sentence.
- Strengths
- A free plan with 500 AI credits a month. PDF and DOCX export on Plus. Unlimited AI credits on Pro.
- Limits
- Export needs a paid plan. We could not find a statement on training in the pages we read.
- Price
- Plus $29.99 a month, or $15.83 a month billed yearly. Pro $89.99 a month, or $49.17 a month billed yearly.
ChatGPT and Claude
General AI assistants, not writing apps. Novelists use them to brainstorm, research a period or test a plot hole.
- Who they're for
- Writers who want a capable thinking partner and are happy to keep the manuscript somewhere else.
- Strengths
- Broad knowledge, free plans, apps everywhere.
- Limits
- No manuscript structure, story bible or export; you paste text in and out. Training defaults matter: on ChatGPT's individual plans OpenAI may use your conversations to train its models unless you turn off "Improve the model for everyone", and feedback you give can still send a conversation for training. Anthropic uses Claude consumer chats for training if you allow it in settings, if a chat is flagged for safety review, or if you opt in.
- Price
- Both have free plans. ChatGPT Plus is $20 a month. Claude Pro is $20 a month, or $17 a month billed yearly ($200). Max is $100 and Ultra $200 a month.
The best free options
"Free" means different things here, so here is what each free option really gives you.
- Google Docs
- Free for good. Fine for a whole novel if you keep chapters as headings or separate files.
- Reedsy Studio
- Free for good, with chapters and scenes, collaboration and PDF and EPUB typesetting. The strongest free choice if you plan to self-publish.
- Feldar Starter
- Free for good, with the full workspace (scene outlines, Canvas, editor, import and export) and 500 one-time credits for AI features. Writing and planning never use credits.
- Campfire and World Anvil
- Free tiers with limits, good for trying their worldbuilding tools.
- LivingWriter
- A free plan. AI needs a paid plan.
- Squibler
- Free with 500 AI credits a month.
- Trials only
- Scrivener (30 days), Plottr (30), Novelcrafter (21), Dabble (14), Sudowrite (free trial, no card), Word (one month).
AI or no AI
Several of the best tools here, Plottr, Atticus and Dabble among them, sell "no AI" as a feature, and plenty of novelists want exactly that. If that is you, Scrivener, Dabble, Plottr, Atticus and Reedsy Studio cover the whole job between them.
If you are open to AI, the question that matters is not "how much can it write?" but "who decides what stays?". Squibler and NovelAI lean toward generating the story. Sudowrite drafts with you. Novelcrafter gives you the controls and the bill. Feldar puts suggestions in blue or in a card and keeps your text as it was until you accept a change.
Two practical notes. Check what happens to your words: Sudowrite, Novelcrafter, Dabble, LivingWriter, Reedsy and Feldar all say they do not train AI on your writing, while consumer chatbots depend on your settings. And if you self-publish on Amazon, Kindle Direct Publishing asks you to disclose AI-generated text, images or translations when you publish, but not AI-assisted work, such as editing or brainstorming on text you wrote yourself.
How to choose
- Start from where the book is stuck. If it is the plan, look at Plottr, Dabble or Feldar. If it is the world, Campfire or World Anvil. If it is the blank page, an AI tool. If it is the finished file, Atticus or Reedsy Studio.
- Decide on AI before you compare features. It rules half of this list in or out.
- Check your devices. Windows and Linux users should rule out Mac-only desktop apps or be happy in a browser. If you write offline, keep to Scrivener, Dabble, Atticus, Plottr's desktop app or Word.
- Price it over a year, not a month. Note yearly versus monthly billing, and whether AI is included or a second bill.
- Test with a real chapter. Every tool here has a free plan or trial, except Atticus, which offers a refund instead. Import a chapter you know well, revise it, and export it. The one you do not fight with is the right one.
- Plan your exit. Before you commit, export a test chapter to Word or another open format and check that it comes out clean.
Not sure where to begin your plan? Our guide on how to outline a novel, scene by scene works in any of these tools.
Sources
All checked November 6, 2026. Opinions on this page are ours; facts come from these official pages.
- Microsoft Word
- Microsoft 365 plans
- Google Docs
- working offline
- LivingWriter
- AI features, downloads, pricing
- Campfire
- pricing
- World Anvil
- pricing
- Reedsy Studio
- Studio overview, pricing and FAQ
- Atticus
- home page, help center on AI
- Sudowrite
- pricing, plans and monthly prices, mobile apps, exporting
- Novelcrafter
- pricing, features, export, privacy policy
- NovelAI
- home page, subscriptions, privacy policy
- Squibler
- pricing
- ChatGPT
- ChatGPT Plus, how your data is used
- Claude
- pricing, model training
- Amazon KDP
- content guidelines on AI
Questions novelists ask about writing software
What is the best novel writing software for beginners?
The one that gets out of your way. Google Docs and Reedsy Studio are free and need no learning. If you want help with structure from the start, Dabble's plot grid or Feldar's scene outlines give a first novel a shape without much setup. Scrivener rewards the time you put into learning it, but it is a lot of tool for a first book.
What is the best free book writing software?
For self-publishing, Reedsy Studio: it is free and typesets print PDF and EPUB. For plain drafting and sharing, Google Docs. For planning and a story bible beside the draft with some AI help to try, Feldar's free Starter plan. Campfire and World Anvil have free tiers for worldbuilding.
Is Scrivener still worth it in 2026?
Yes, if you want offline, local files, a one-time price and powerful output through Compile. It has no AI, and its desktop apps are sold per platform. If those trade-offs suit you, little on this list replaces it.
What is the best novel writing software for Windows?
Scrivener, Plottr, LivingWriter and Word all have native Windows apps. Atticus runs as a browser app on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebook. Dabble, Novelcrafter, Sudowrite, Reedsy Studio and Feldar run in the browser. Feldar's desktop app is Mac only for now.
Do I have to tell Amazon if I used AI to write my book?
Kindle Direct Publishing asks you to disclose AI-generated text, images or translations when you publish. It does not require you to disclose AI-assisted work, which it describes as content you created yourself and then edited, refined or error-checked with AI tools. Read KDP's content guidelines for the full wording.
Will a writing app use my novel to train AI?
Sudowrite, Novelcrafter, Dabble, LivingWriter, Reedsy and Feldar say they do not. Scrivener keeps your project on your own device. With consumer ChatGPT, OpenAI may train on your chats unless you opt out; with Claude, Anthropic trains on chats if you allow it. Check the policy of any tool before you paste a manuscript in.
Do I need special software to write a novel?
No. Plenty of novels are written in Word or Google Docs. Novel software earns its place when the book gets big: when you lose track of scenes, forget what colour a character's eyes were, or dread turning a manuscript into an ebook. Pick the tool that fixes the problem you actually have.